Media Centre

Flight Airline Business names Ajay Singh as global ‘Low-Cost’ leader
Honoured for demonstrating excellence in leading a low-fare carrier, market stimulation through low fares, maintaining a tight grip on costs and posting record profits

Gurugram, July 16, 2018: The Airline Strategy Awards 2018 hosted by Flight Airline Business has awarded Ajay Singh, Chairman & Managing Director, SpiceJet, with the global ‘Low-Cost Leadership Award’. The Airline Strategy Awards recognises excellence in the aviation industry across the globe and acknowledges the crucial role that management talent plays in shaping its success and covers the key functions that make up a successful airline leadership team.

The annual invitation-only event, which was held in London on Sunday, July 15, has six main categories which include --- ‘Executive Leadership’, ‘Sector Leadership’, ‘Finance’, ‘Marketing’ and ‘Network Strategy’ besides ‘Low-Cost Leadership’.

“I am truly honoured to receive this prestigious award and I extend my heartfelt gratitude to the jury members for the honour. This award is a recognition of SpiceJet’s spectacular comeback and remarkable performance. Leading SpiceJet from a near shutdown to being one of finest airlines in India has been the best experience of my life. I share this recognition with each and every SpiceJetter who has worked relentlessly to script our incredible story that the world today speaks of with admiration and awe,” said Ajay Singh, CMD, SpiceJet.

The Low-Cost Leadership award is an honour to commemorate excellence in helming a low-fare airline, maintaining a tight grip on costs, production integrity, market stimulation through low fares, taking innovative approaches to growing ancillary revenue streams and posting record profits.

The 2018 jury, a panel of internationally acclaimed aviation experts, included Geoff Dixon former MD & CEO of Qantas, Ray Webster, former CEO of EasyJet, Montie Brewer former CEO , Air Canada, Michael Bell, Senior Client Partner and Leader of the Civil Aviation Practice at Korn Ferry International, Alex de Gunten, Business development officer of HEICO Aerospace Corp, Rigas Doganis, Advisor to governments and airlines on air transport policy and Chris Tarry, Founder of Independent Consultancy And Advisory Business CTAIRA.

Max Kingsley-Jones, Executive Director Content at FlightGlobal and host of The Airline Strategy Awards, said, “The airline industry is enjoying a healthy existence right now in an era of sustained profitability and stability. But some airline management teams are still rising above their peers through clever strategies and innovative thinking.”

“Since 2002, the Airline Strategy Awards have been established as the highest accolade in the recognition of the industry’s leaders and trend-setters, identifying those who are raising the bar the way they run their businesses. This year’s winners once again demonstrate how to deliver success at the highest level.”