Media Centre

SpiceJet Flies High All Through FY 2017
  • Operations starting 16th May, 2017
  • Two daily flights will give daily return option
  • Only low-cost carrier to operate on Kolkata – Dhaka sector

Gurgaon, 21 April, 2017: SpiceJet, the country’s favourite low-cost carrier, has launched its second daily direct flight on the Kolkata-Dhaka route thus enhancing its global footprint. The airline which now operates to 7 international destinations is the only low cost carrier to operate flights on the Kolkata – Dhaka sector. The new flight will be operational starting from 16th May 2017. Bookings for the route are currently open.

Dhaka is the second international destination after Bangkok that the airline will be serving with a daily direct flight from Kolkata.

The new flight schedule has been so planned that will open convenient travel options for business and leisure travelers and will allow corporate travelers with an option for a convenient return flight the same day. As per the schedule starting 16th May 2017, the flight SG 76 will depart from Kolkata at 16:05 to arrive at Dhaka at 17:45. The return flight SG 77 will depart from Dhaka at 18:30 to reach Kolkata at 19:00

Announcing the new international flight, Ms. Shilpa Bhatia – Senior Vice President Commercial, SpiceJet Ltd. said “The overwhelming response of our customers to our first flight on the Kolkata-Dhaka route is what encouraged us to launch our second flight on the sector in such a short period. We will eye new markets and boost connectivity while discreetly gauging customer demand.”

The new flight will provide convenient onward connections to cities such as Bangkok, Delhi, Chennai, Bangalore, Mumbai, Guwahati, Bagdogra, Aizawl and Silchar via Kolkata to Dhaka.

Flight Schedule
FLT No. Origin Destination Departure Arrival Frequency Effective dates
SG 71 Kolkata Dhaka 7:05 8:35 Daily 26 Mar 2017
SG 72 Dhaka Kolkata 9:20 9:40 Daily 26 Mar 2017
SG 76 Kolkata Dhaka 16:05 17:45 Daily 16 May 2017 onwards
SG 77 Dhaka Kolkata 18:30 19:00 Daily 16 May 2017 onwards

Please Note: Timings are as per local standard time